Noria Corporation    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Lubrication  Hop To Forums  Car and Truck Lubrication    Wal Mart motor oil
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wal Mart motor oil
 Login/Join

Level 1 - 1 to 50 posts
posted
A friend of mine says that Wal Mart "brand" motor oil is made by Quaker State. One of their "service reps" working in the automotive section pointed out the similarity of manufacturing numbers (I assume date, lot number, etc.) on the containers. I am skeptical, but he is convinced.

I would just as soon pay 30 to 50% less for the Wal Mart brand if it is basically the same oil as Quaker State.

Any comment, suggestions, information on where I can find "the truth"?

Please forgive me if this is an old, rehashed subject. I'm just a Newbie.

Posts: 5 | Registered: Sun February 29 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Level 1 - 1 to 50 posts
posted Hide Post
Walmart oil was made by QS its now made by Warren. goto http://www.cheminfonet.org/msds1.htm
and click on walmart for oil source.

Posts: 19 | Location: Dallas Tx | Registered: Thu January 08 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Level 1 - 1 to 50 posts
posted Hide Post
By the way when you do your search for a product you may have to do a right click and then "open with" I pick picture viewer as they open as pictures.

Posts: 19 | Location: Dallas Tx | Registered: Thu January 08 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Level 1 - 1 to 50 posts
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the info...I'll go there now.

Level 1 - 1 to 50 posts
posted Hide Post
I have an 88 S10 with 227000 miles on it that has used walmart oil for years. I'm using the walmart blend 5w30 in my 97 Taurus and 2002 GMC pickup. Its good oil and for the price its great oil.

Level 3 - 101 to 250 posts
posted Hide Post