Skip to main content

Read our primer articles on High Mileage Oil, Synthetic Oil and Kinematic Viscosity

A friend of mine says that Wal Mart "brand" motor oil is made by Quaker State. One of their "service reps" working in the automotive section pointed out the similarity of manufacturing numbers (I assume date, lot number, etc.) on the containers. I am skeptical, but he is convinced.

I would just as soon pay 30 to 50% less for the Wal Mart brand if it is basically the same oil as Quaker State.

Any comment, suggestions, information on where I can find "the truth"?

Please forgive me if this is an old, rehashed subject. I'm just a Newbie.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Don't take this wrong, I'm not knocking SuperTech, I've used the motor oil some, and the ATF quite a bit with no problems. But, I'm always a little scared of Wal-Mart simply switching suppliers on the oil products. I don't mind using the SuperTech filters, because I can just look at them (or cut open) and make sure that they haven't changed.

At least for me, at my Wal-Mart, the best cheap oil deal is on the Chevron Supreme at ~$1.10/qt. I'm not saying that you should avoid the SuperTech, but personally, I feel a little better with the Chevron.
I agree with the other member, why for your car would you chance playing roulette and mixing manufacturers brands of oil to save a few cents? If a problem ever developed you think ole mal wart is going to fix your engine, or even listen to your complaint?

Buying generic repackaged goods have their place and in my opinion my car is not that place, unless there is tracability and accountability for the goods such as Napa oil ie: Valvoline...ashland.

Knowing exactly what is in my oil pan makes me feel a bunch better. Spending time to locate who made the oil and what specs it meets takes more patience than I have, but to each is own.
Lumina,