Skip to main content

Read our primer articles on High Mileage Oil, Synthetic Oil and Kinematic Viscosity

Good evening guys!!

i'm from indonesia. i have a friend that has a problem to solve. i hope some of you guys have experience in solving it. In a site in Palembang, there's many logging industry. And almost all of them have problem in lubrication for their trucks (most of them use japanese truck which operated in severe heavy load, off-road,and very humid atmosphere). And many complaint from operators that using the sae 40 causing overheat. I suppose it comes from the severe load they carried. Is it okay to switch to sae 50? is there any technical explanation and justification for that step? Or maybe using oil additives is the ultimate solutions? thanx. Confused
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I am by no means an expert, nor experienced in heavy trucks, but an ester based oil will take the heat a lot better. Not sure what brands are available in your area, but Redline Oil makes various multigrades that have no viscosity index improver (except 5w40) and so are essentially straight weight oils that meet the multigrade criteria. Also, they say you can use a thinner grade, that is if you are using 10w40 you can use Redline 10w30 as it will protect as well. Might try Redline 10w40, unless you are operating diesels, in which case Redline makes a 15w40 diesel oil. But it your engine has leaks they will get worse with the ester based oil.
I recommend the 15w-40 Marine and Diesel oil from AMSOIL. A true synthetic will run cooler than a petroleum oil. If you are burning oil or leaking oil, then you must not use the AMSOIL as it will find every leak you have. I also recommend the bypass filter system to remove moisture from the oil in a humid climate. The filter element holds water until the oil temp is hot enough to burn it off. Look at www.lubedealer.com/tntsynthetics and click on the 'other links' button and read the diesel products page