Skip to main content

Read our primer articles on Oil Analysis and Tribology

hi
i am a final year post graduate student of reliability engg.for my project,i am focussing on on-site condition monitoring for 1000-1500hp diesel engines and gearboxes.
what are the various methods which can be used in-situ and also centrally in a large country like India.
any help shall be beneficial for me please
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Sam,

Condition monitoring is best applied to large systems and larger the better, hence it is best utilised for corporations having large fleets.

The science behind it is quite simple, the larger the body or mass or fluid the more time the lube has to 'rest.' During the process, the material and energy balances (MEB) are maintained and the fluid "recuperates and rejunevates." Further baffles in tanks allow the finest of wear and metallic debris to "precipitate." Additionally on line filters remove bulk of the wear debris. Many OE's recommend a sump size of ten to twelve times the flowrate.

Major engine manufacturers ( marine engine manufacturers ) like Wartsila recommend ( demand would be more appropriate) a "finite lube life" based on changes to lubricant. The drain is based on depletion of TBN, drop in viscosity, "water content," Flash Point.

MANN feels differently. German engineers feel lube has "infinite life" provided water content and Flash points are in order. This means lubes can be used for thousands of hours if viscosity and TBN are maintained. This can easily be done by a process of 'sweetening", where I higher TBN oil is charged to compensate for drop in TBN, in short TBN is boosted. Similiarly viscosity too can be corrected by addtion SAE 30 or SAE 50 oil to meet SAE 40 requirements.

It is against this background of extending lubricant life and thereby obtain economy that condition monitoring finds its rightful place.